When renaming a ProfileUnity Configuration, present a pop up asking to delete/rename the configuration on the share. This would eliminate the possible duplication of configurations on the file share.
Rename/Save needs to check the default deployment path and the configuration over ride deployment path. But yes.. I agree there needs to be a delete and redeploy on the old configuration file. I run into this all the time. Clients with old INI files.